Sheepish remarks

I started this blog as an exercise in discipline. I wanted to write it because I wanted to think and write about Bowie, and few people (zero people) in day-to-day life have the patience to listen to me jaw about Hunky Dory for thirty minutes at a time. But I’m not excited to write about Aladdin Sane, and I completely forgot to write about Ziggy Stardust last month. I’ve spent the whole last month feeling guilty about it, feeling like I skipped a really important homework assignment or something. And here we are, at the end of June, and I didn’t write about Aladdin Sane either. I don’t know why. I guess I just don’t have much to say about either of these albums. Don’t get me wrong, I love them both deeply in their own ways. Ziggy is musical crack, it’s fucking incredible, it’s a rock masterpiece. Aladdin Sane is also a wonderful album (although IMO falls slightly short of the cohesiveness of Ziggy– though its’ more schizoid musical properties are actually part of its charm for me). Both have their own special places in my heart and in the narrative of my life, but… I think, ultimately, I just don’t find them that interesting. There’s something kind of emotionally impersonal about Ziggy, less so in Aladdin Sane, but again in Diamond Dogs, that makes me less excited to dissect it. Or maybe I’m being lazy. Maybe I needed a break— some space, as it were, to dedicate to my main writing (as my “main writing” gets wedged in between working full time, going to mental health support groups 3-5 days a week, being involved in community otherwise, exercising, taking care of my apartment, battling chronic mental illness…etc).

 
I feel like I’ve failed a little by lapsing these last two months, since this blog was supposed to be a discipline, but I like to think I’m disciplined where it counts and that I don’t have to do this thing perfectly. Hopefully I’ll revisit these albums at a later time to complete my little collection of weird essays about Bowie’s albums, but for now, I think I’m going to set them aside. I’m just going to say that I’ve had a lot going on in my personal life, and it’d been beneficial for me to devote my writing energy to my books. And I feel a little bit like I’m saying the dog ate my homework, but, well… sometimes the dog really does eat your homework, I guess.

 
It feels a little pointless to continue this blog but I’m not putting it to bed officially. Just posting an update and saying thanks for hanging with me. I’ll be back next month with… something. Idk what, but something. Until then, take care.

 
Love,
Jack

Leave a Reply

